Lucy Webb Hayes Award

The Lucy Webb Hayes Award is presented to the agency or program that has achieved both ACA full accreditation and PREA compliance for every component within their area of responsibility. The Lucy Webb Hayes award represents the dedication of these agencies to enhancing public safety and the well-being of those in our care.  If you believe your agency qualifies for the Crystal Eagle Award please contact your ACA specialist. Lucy Hayes was the wife of President Rutherford B. Hayes, who served as ACA’s first President at its founding in 1870.  Following this, he became the 19th President of the United States from 1877 to 1881.  After his U.S.  Presidency ended, he came back to serve once again as ACA’s President from 1883-1892.  Many of you may not be aware, but, Lucy, his first lady, was the one who influenced Rutherford to take an interest in reform in the prison systems in Ohio, since, at the time of ACA's formation in 1870, he was then the Governor of Ohio. 


The following facilities have received the Lucy Webb Hayes Award:


Ohio Department of Rehabilitation and Correction

U.S. Army

Henrico County Sheriff’s Office

Oriana House, Inc.

Nashville-Davidson County Sheriff’s Office

Federal Bureau of Prisons

Texas Department of Criminal Justice